Where have I been?

Its been a while since I wrote any posts on this blog. What have I been up to? Quite a few things actually. I’ve changed companies, bought a new house, got married to the woman I love.. to name a few. I’ve also been intrigued by the finance world and I spent the last few years exploring various rule based investing strategies, which are now live and am using them to invest my savings. But thats a topic for another blog. 

Anyway, at the new venture I’m with, I’ve managed to build quite a large and complex web application, which is cloud hosted in production. This application uses Dojo toolkit as the JavaScript framework. I explored AngularJS and I’ll write about that at some point as well. For charting, we currently use HighCharts, but plan to switch to D3.js soon. 

Over the next few weeks, I’ll post about the various aspects of this application. Being a large single page application, there were quite a few interesting challenges – I name a few below. 

  • JavaScript and CSS minification
  • Standardized Ajax requests
  • Common validation framework
  • Routing/bookmarking
  • Charting libraries
  • Page transitions
  • How the entire app is object oriented
  • Custom components we had to build
  • Unit testing using Intern

I’ll try to post these one topic at a time. 

Leave a Reply

